Theravada Buddhist Council’s 2nd AGM

Theravada Buddhist Council’s 2nd AGM

Group photograph of TBCM advisors, EXCO members, official delegates and representatives of member organisations.

The Theravada Buddhist Council of Malaysia (TBCM) had its 2nd Annual General Meeting on Saturday, 20 July 2013, at the Sri Lanka Buddhist Temple, Sentul, Kuala Lumpur.  The well-attended meeting deliberated on TBCM’s past year activities, and its medium to longer term programmes for the coming years.

Prior to the meeting, Ven. Aggacitta Mahathero gave an inspiring Dhamma talk explaining the 7 factors of non-decline as taught by the Buddha in the Mahāparinibbāna Sutta (DN.16), much to the delight of delegates and devotees.  That was followed by a Sanghika-Dāna and luncheon for all delegates.

From Left: (1) Bro. Tan addressing the AGM, with Ven. Aggacitta, Ven. Dhammaratana, and Ven. Saranankara. (2) Nalanda Deputy President Bro. Lee Teck Beng receiving Nalanda's TBCM membership certificate from Ven. Saranankara and TBCM President Bro. Chim Siew Choon. (3) Ven. Aggacitta delivering a Dhamma talk.

Nalanda Buddhist Society is a founding member of TBCM.  Representing Nalanda at TBCM’s 2nd AGM were Bro. Ananda Fong, Deputy President Bro. Lee Teck Beng, and Assistant Secretary Sis. Mudita Chan.  Nalanda Founder Bro. H S Tan was also invited to address delegates at the meeting .

TBCM is a federation of Theravada-based Buddhist organisations in Malaysia.  It currently has 34 Member Organisations from 12 states, and one Associate Member.  The Council appointed 5 senior Sangha Members to its Monastic Advisory Panel (MAP), namely, Ven. Saranankara Mahathero, Ven. Aggacitta Mahathero, Ven. Dhammavuddho Mahathero, Ven. Jutipañño Mahathero, and Ven. Ajahn Chamriang Candano Mahathero.

TBCM was successfully registered in May last year as a national body to unite, represent, and safeguard the Theravada community in Malaysia, and to work with other national Buddhist federations to protect the overall interests of Malaysian Buddhists.